My Final Learning Project of the Course as Well my Overall Summary!

This has been a very interesting learning journey for me as I was able to create some fun earring designs. What surprised for me is that I was able to stick to my beading due to it was so fun making my earrings and along the way I was able to teach me younger sister how to make brick stitch earrings. So far she has created 2 pairs of her own earrings. I am thankful for this amazing opportunity to learn new ways to create my little creations through the many useful resources that helped me to grow within my beading as well the knowledge from this course on the views on technology and social media.

For my final learning project which is number seven I decided to create this beautiful flowered brick stitch earring which I only included one side. The earring on the left was not my first attempt to creating this design as my first attempt, my thread busted and I was half way so that made me a little confused however I was able to restart with a fresh new eyes. I really had fun creating this amazing earring and thinking about my final creation post made me go faster to finish (giggle).

I keep forgetting that I was short of colors which I didn’t have yellow and a burgundy color so I improvised with the red and white. The reason I didn’t get new beads is because I just have been swamped with homework and having to study for my final exam for my other course. Whenever I am free I will no dubitably make a run to the store to purchase new colors as I have other designs I want to get to.

Now that we are at the end of our learning journey I would like to reflect on how I have come a long way with what I have accomplished being in this class from when I first started my learning project to my final and I can say I am so amazed but thankful to all my classmates for their kind words and comments as they have helped me grow within my blog posts as well helped me to see where I needed work. Below are the weeks of what I have accomplish as well as my reflection on my learning project:

Week #1Choosing of My Learning Project

During our first week in class I had a lot of ideas for my learning project as I wanted to do gardening however our soil in our plots behind the Campus Housing office here in Whitehorse was still frozen and many gardeners mentioned to wait until after the long weekend in June after the full moon to plant our seeds so this is where I had to come up with a new plan and I decided to do a learning project on making Delica brick stitch earrings. This was great for me as it was something that I have always wanted to do.

Week #2Learning Project Post #2 – Creative Beaded Earrings

-It was kind of challenging finding the right supplies for making my creations as i didn’t know where the beading store were here in Whitehorse

– Decided to do learn how to make Delica Brick Stitch earrings

-Great way to connect with my sister (we had fun catching up)

-Started doing some research with the help of YouTube videos on tutorials to help get me started after talking with my sister

-This was challenging but I like learning new things

EDTC 300 class helped me stay on track

Week #3Post#3 – Making creative brick stitch earrings

-Connection was not so great for my sister to video chat however she came up with a way to help guide me through the steps

-Tracked my progress through the use of note taking

-learned to hyperlink resources

-Surprisingly it took 3 hours to do one brick stitch earring as my thread busted and had to start all over – we learn from our mistakes

-For the most part of my learning I felt confused and I think that made my sister confused however she was nice a cool

-Enjoyed talking with my sister then she was preparing to go ice fishing which i was jealous

-Building my confidence to do the other side on my own

Had fun learning how to use iMovie to document my learning process and made a video of my Learning project – Making creative brick stitch earrings

Week #4Challenged myself with my beading – Post #4

-Learned to use brick stitch grid paper as it help me stay on track

-Learned new designs

-Took longer than usual to finish this pair of earrings

-Made a beautiful gift for my younger sister

-Personally don’t like threading a needle (not patient)

-Beading is a great way to relieve stress

-Helped other understand and learn to bead through my blog post as I provided step to start your earring (a lot of fun)

Week #5Trying out something different with my beading – Learning Post #5

-Learned to add more resources

-Challenged myself to do something different and it turned out amazing

-Added hyperlinks to videos that helped me in the process of making the 2 creations

-Getting a little better in blogging

-Found some great resources through Etsy, Pinterest, and YouTube

-Sad that I didn’t have the right colors

-Don’t like learning online as I learn better within a class however I had fun with all the technology’s to learning via online (made it work)

-Happy with the results and loved calling my sister to ask for guidance

Week #6Giving meaning to my beading!

-Gave meaning behind my earrings in dedication to my former beloved pets that I owned

This post brought back so much beautiful memories of the pets I owned as well as my siblings

-Connected to personal teenage/adult information

-This is my favorite post of all as I was able to express how much my two pets meant a lot to me

-Added great resources and learned a lot to where my errors were

-The second earring got me so frustrated that I had to continue the next day as the thread kept busting and I couldn’t repair so too a break

-The earrings turned out amazing

-Helped other as to finding the bead shops here in Whitehorse as another classmate suggested to put in my post. I was more than happy to help other locate where I get my beads and if you got to read my blog post I hope the locations and directions helped.

I learned a lot from this learning project:

I loved creating these beautiful earrings as I was able to play around with my colors, designs and as well challenging myself to make different brick stitch earrings. I learned more about blogging as well as I learned how to add hyperlink resources instead of adding them at the end like when you do when writing a paper, found some great resources that I really liked and will continue to use throughout my learning of making more earrings as they that helped me along the way, and so much more. Personally finding the right video that related to what I was doing in my learning project was a bit difficult and was a bit time consuming eventually I found the right ones to go with my posts. This learning journey of mine was so fun where as I mentioned earlier that I was able to teach my younger sister how to make brick stitch earring and it is so amazing to just sit and chat while beading. I think we found something we both like and can just bead away while my daughter is either playing out with her friends or when she is doing her own little thing.

After this class is over and that I am done with assignments I will continue my Delica brick stitch journey. I found this class very beneficial for me as it helped me see the many resources out there to help guide us on our learning journeys and I found which resources I liked. I am happy and excited to see how these resources, the knowledge from this class will contribute to my future classroom as I will continue to bring in new information especially to help my students know the pros and cons to the use of technology in and outside of the classroom.

Here are the Delica Brick Stitch Earrings I Created:

Thank you all for following along with me through my learning project and i am more than welcome to help or guide anyone if you would like to learn via online as we are still having to do the safe 6 to keep everyone safe during this tough time. Have a great Summer everyone!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *